top of page

Comrade Tito, I inherit

27 min. / 2021

Distributed by Lemonade Films

https://www.refreshingfilms.com/filme/genosse-tito-ich-erbe

WATCH:
https://www.zdf.de/filme/dokumentarfilm-in-3sat/genosse-tito-ich-erbe-104.html


FBW filmrating "Particularly valuable"

"Olga Kosanović was born and raised in Austria. But her grandparents live in Serbia, in a beautiful house with a garden on an idyllic mountainside. Together with her brother and mother, Olga now visits her grandparents to prepare the inheritance. And there is a lot that needs to be discussed. Where exactly is the water turned off? Are the lights on everywhere? Who takes care of the property? Or shouldn't it be better to sell everything? All these questions are negotiated, quite objectively, as casually. And yet it's in in every shot, in every little family conversation in this short documentary by Olga Kosanović, there is an enormous amount of warmth and closeness. And again and again a central concept floats in the room and in the air: homeland. What it is, where it is, how it feels. And how it is closely linked to the people who mean home.These universal terms allow viewers to connect regardless of cultural or national origin identify with the thoughts and questions. Kosanović includes herself in her film, talks to her family, but at the same time always keeps an observing distance. And through the title, which refers to the historical figure of the former Yugoslavian head of state, the film also points to the Yugoslavian conflict with intelligent reflection, which is still having an impact in the individual regions and the wound is far from healed. With COMRADE TITO, I INHERIT Kosanović has succeeded in making a documentary that masterfully combines personal concern and general validity. A very special film."

Nominated for the German Short Film Award 2021
https://www.deutscher-kurzfilmpreis.de/dkfp/suche/zwoelf-kurzfilme-nominiert-1968900

Jury statement:
"A house with an orchard on an idyllic mountain slope in Serbia: There the filmmaker, who grew up and lives in Vienna, meets her mother, brother, grandparents, three generations under one roof. Her mother, who raves about her happy childhood under Tito, had Yugoslavia left for Austria during the war. A war that represents a chapter of recent history that has not yet been worked through and whose ruptures in the family history Olga Kosanović deals with in Comrade Tito, I inherit now. She immediately poses the fundamental question of what remains at the beginning. What should happen in the future with her inheritance, the house and property. What does home mean, what does being at home mean? A question that Olga can only ask in German so that her brother can understand it. The film is now being drawn in particular that he negotiates these weighty issues with great ease, cautiously, unobtrusively and with a personal approach . And casually, through his brother's casually interspersed comments, he poses fundamental questions about the meaning of authenticity in documentary film. Here we have a wonderfully successful example!"

40+ Festivals (Selection):

*WINNER* Austrian Filmprize 2022
*Nominee* German Short Film Award LOLA 2021

Oberhausen Short Film Festival, German Competition 2021 *WINNER* 3Sat Young Film Award 2021

Vienna Shorts, Austria, 2021

Diagonale Festival, Austria, 2021

KISFF Kyiv International Short Film Festival, 2021

FeKK Ljubljana Short Film Festival, 2021
Valladolid International Film Festival Seminci, 2021
Doxs! Dusiburg, 2021

KFFK Short Film Festival Cologne, Germany, 2021

dokumentarfilmwoche hamburg, 2022

A mountainside, an orchard, a house. Idyllic pictures in southern Serbia. Three generations under the roof of the house that is being prepared for its transmission. Everyone with their own heritage, but which everyone has to carry together - memories, fictions, what is there but has no place, what nobody wants and still doesn't let anyone go. An approach to history that becomes part of your own. Home is complicated, maybe inherit a burden and Tito becomes a symbol for something 

What has been - A cinematic examination of what remains.

With: Milivoje Pantovic, Nadezda Pantovic, Tanja Kosanovic, Valentin Kosanovic

Direction / Camera / Editing: Olga Kosanović

Dramaturgical advice: Daniela Kinateder

Mixing & Sound Design: David Almeida-Ribeiro

Grading: Lee Niederkofler

With the kind support of FFHSH Filmförderung Hamburg Schleswig-Holstein & HFBK Hamburg

2021

bottom of page

Genosse Tito, ich erbe

27 Min. / 2021

Verleih: Lemonade Films

https://www.refreshingfilms.com/filme/genosse-tito-ich-erbe

WATCH;
https://www.zdf.de/filme/dokumentarfilm-in-3sat/genosse-tito-ich-erbe-104.html


FBW Filmbewertung Prädikat "Besonders wertvoll"

"Olga Kosanović ist in Österreich geboren und aufgewachsen. Doch ihre Großeltern leben in Serbien, in einem wunderschönen Haus mit Garten an einem idyllischen Berghang. Zusammen mit ihrem Bruder und ihrer Mutter besucht Olga nun ihre Großeltern, um das Erbe vorzubereiten. Und da gibt es vieles, das besprochen werden muss. Wo genau wird das Wasser abgestellt? Geht überall das Licht? Wer kümmert sich um das Grundstück? Oder sollte man nicht besser alles verkaufen? All diese Fragen werden verhandelt, ganz sachlich, wie beiläufig. Und doch steckt in jeder Aufnahme, in jedem familiären kleinen Zwiegespräch dieses Kurzdokumentarfilms von Olga Kosanović ungeheuer viel Wärme und Nähe. Und immer wieder schwebt ein zentraler Begriff im Raum und in der Luft: Heimat. Was sie ist, wo sie ist, wie sie sich anfühlt. Und wie eng sie verknüpft ist mit den Menschen, die Heimat bedeuten. Diese universellen Begriffe erlauben, dass sich Zuschauende unabhängig von einer kulturellen oder nationalen Herkunft mit den Gedanken und Fragestellungen identifizieren. Kosanović schließt sich selbst in ihren Film mit ein, unterhält sich mit ihrer Familie, behält aber gleichzeitig auch immer einen beobachtenden Abstand. Und durch den Titel, der auf die historische Figur des ehemaligen jugoslawischen Staatschefs verweist, deutet der Film auch mit kluger Reflexion auf den jugoslawischen Konflikt, der bis heute in den einzelnen Regionen nachwirkt und als Wunde noch lange nicht verheilt ist. Kosanović ist mit GENOSSE TITO, ICH ERBE ein Dokumentarfilm gelungen, der persönliche Betroffenheit und allgemeine Gültigkeit meisterlich in sich vereint. Ein ganz besonderer Film."

Nominiert für den Deutschen Kurzfilmpreis 2021
https://www.deutscher-kurzfilmpreis.de/dkfp/suche/zwoelf-kurzfilme-nominiert-1968900

Jury-Statement:
"Ein Haus mit Obstgarten an einem idyllischen Berghang in Serbien: Dort trifft die in Wien aufgewachsene und lebende Filmemacherin ihre Mutter, den Bruder, die Großeltern, drei Generationen unter einem Dach. Ihre Mutter, die von ihrer glücklichen Kindheit unter Tito schwärmt, hatte Jugoslawien während des Krieges nach Österreich verlassen. Eines Krieges, der ein noch lange nicht aufgearbeitetes Kapitel der jüngeren Geschichte darstellt und mit dessen Brüchen in der Familiengeschichte sich Olga Kosanović in GENOSSE TITO, ICH ERBE nun auseinandersetzt. Die grundlegende Frage, was bleibt, stellt sie gleich zu Beginn. Was soll in Zukunft geschehen mit ihrem Erbe, dem Haus und Anwesen. Was bedeutet Heimat, was bedeutet Zuhause sein? Eine Frage, die Olga nur auf Deutsch zu stellen vermag, damit der Bruder sie auch versteht. Den Film zeichnet nun in besonderem Maße aus, dass er diese gewichtigen Themen mit großer Leichtigkeit, behutsam, unaufdringlich und mit persönlicher Ansprache verhandelt. Und wie nebenbei stellt er, durch die, in lockerem Tonfall eingestreuten Kommentare des Bruders, grundlegende Fragen über die Bedeutung von Authentizität im Dokumentarfilm. Hier haben wir ein wunderbar gelungenes Beispiel!"

Festivals:

*Nominiert* Österreichischer Filmpreis 2022
*Nominiert* Deutscher Kurzfilmpreis LOLA 2021

Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen, Deutscher Wettbewerb 2021 *WINNER* 3Sat Nachwuchsfilmpreis 2021

Vienna Shorts, Österreichischer Wettbewerb, 2021

Diagonale Festival des österreichischen Films, 2021

KISFF Kyiv International Short Film Festival, 2021

FeKK Ljubljana Short Film Festival, 2021

Kino Otok Isola Cinema International Film Festival, 2021

Filmfestival Freistadt der neue Heimatfilm 2021
Valladolid International Film Festival Seminci, 2021
Doxs! Dusiburg, 2021

Exground Filmfestival Wiesbaden, 2021

LIFFe Ljubljana International Filmfestival 2021

KFFK Kurzfilmfestival Köln 2021
International Usak Short Film Festival Türkei, 2021

AG-Kurzfilmtour zu Gast beim Max Ophüls Preis 2022

International Women Filmmakers Festival Izmir Türkei, 2022

dokumentarfilmwoche hamburg, 2022

Ein Berghang, ein Obstgarten, ein Haus. Idyllische Bilder im südlichen Serbien. Drei Generationen unter dem Dach des Hauses, dass für seine Weitergabe vorbereitet wird. Jeder mit seinem eigenen Erbe, das aber alle gemeinsam tragen müssen - Erinnerungen, Fiktionen, das, was da ist, aber keinen Platz findet, was keiner haben möchte und trotzdem niemanden loslässt. Eine Annäherung an die Geschichte, die Teil der eigenen wird. Heimat ist kompliziert, erben vielleicht eine Last und Tito wird zur Symbolfigur für etwas 

Gewesenes - Eine filmische Auseinandersetzung mit dem, was bleibt.

Mit: Milivoje Pantović, Nadežda Pantović, Tanja Kosanović, Valentin Kosanović

Regie / Kamera / Montage: Olga Kosanović

Dramaturgische Beratung: Daniela Kinateder

Mischung & Sounddesign: David Almeida-Ribeiro

Grading: Lee Niederkofler

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von FFHSH Filmförderung Hamburg Schleswig-Holstein & HFBK Hamburg

2021